Local EllenorLions Hospices would like to thank Sophie Warren for raising vital funds for children, young people and adults within their care who have a life threatening or life limiting illness and are being cared for either within their own home or at the EllenorLions Hospice in Northfleet.

Sophie’s story:
About 3 years ago the EllenorLions Hospice was just a building that I drove past. A place I associated with death and the elderly, a place I suppose I was fearful of. A place I never saw myself having to be involved in.
How naive I was. Two years ago that all changed because my Nana Margaret Croft, who is the reason I decided to hold my event as well as stupidly signing up for the Triathlon, passed away in the Hospice. I now realise how fortunate we were to have a place like the Hospice, not only because of the care provided for my Nana but also because the support they offered my family.

My family and I found out that a hospice is not just a building; it is a way of caring for people. Hospice care aims to improve the lives of people whose illness may not be curable. Death is not denied, but life is affirmed and lived until death occurs, whether this is at home or at the EllenorLions Hospice in Northfleet. EllenorLions Hospices help people to live as actively as possible after diagnosis until the end of their lives, however long that may be. The highest value is put on respect, dignity and choice. And they support family and close friends, both during the illness and in bereavement.

What I am trying to say is that the building I drove past not knowing or wanting to have association with became a life line for my family and I. You really don’t know when you need these people; we can’t see what’s just round the corner and why we may turn to the EllenorLions Hospice.
My family will forever be in debt to EllenorLions Hospices, they transformed my attitudes.

Sarah Dell, Community Fundraiser said, “I admire all supporters of EllenorLions Hospices who raise much needed funds for children, young people and adults within our care who have either a life threatening or life limiting illness and who are being cared for either within their own home or at our hospice in Northfleet. Sophie is no different, having met her and members of her family as well as knowing of her reason to support EllenorLions Hospices I know how much it meant to her that her event should go well, which it did!

To have raised £4,000 for EllenorLions Hospices is fantastic and on a personal note I would like to send my sincerest thanks to Sophie, her family and everyone who supported her. Sophie along with her brother Sam have just taken part in a Sprint Triathlon and are still training for the London Olympic and the Hevelen Triathlon to continue to raise funds for the EllenorLions Hospices, this kind of support means the world to the hospices as we rely heavily on events held by our supporters – thank you so much Sophie! I would also like to send thanks to Owls Castle in Culverstone for allowing the event to be held there.

We really could not continue to provide the services we have without the support of the local community, if you would like to hold an event to help raise vital funds for EllenorLions Hospices then please contact the Fundraising Department on 01322 221315 for more information”

