RichardIII-blogpostTwo Medway pupils will be treading the boards this summer with a professional theatre company. Kent-based Changeling Theatre Company open-air tour of Richard III comes to Rochester Castle on 10 July and Upnor on 31 July and 1 August.

Ashley Stevens and Jacob Clarke are playing the princes in the tower at the Rochester and Upnor performances after successfully auditioning earlier this year. Ashley, who turns 16 next month, lives in Lordswood and has just completed his GCSEs, including drama. He is looking forward to performing in Medway with all the cast. He said: “I’m not sure acting is something I want to pursue because at the moment I need to concentrate on my A’ Levels studies – including drama. I’m really grateful to Changeling Theatre Company for giving me this opportunity.

Sir Joseph Williamson’s Mathematical School pupil Jacob (13), who lives in Walderslade, said: “My mum saw the article in the paper and asked me if I would like to audition. I thought that it would be an incredible opportunity to learn more about Shakespeare. I am looking forward to be gaining experience, and performing at two famous castles. I would really like to pursue a career on acting when I am older, and having the opportunity to work with a professional company is incredible.” The amazing discovery of the remains of England’s notorious King Richard III has rekindled the public’s imagination about the last Plantagenet King. And in turn this has sparked a renewed enthusiasm for Shakespeare’s eponymous play amongst the professional theatre community, nationally and internationally. This has certainly been the case for Changeling Theatre, who will be bringing their unique version of the play to stunning outdoor locations in Medway.

Changeling Theatre’s founder and artistic director Rob Forknall said: “I’ve wanted to do Richard III for years, it’s by far my favourite Shakespeare. But our decision to tour it this year was made before the real King’s remains were discovered. “Every year we ask our audiences to choose which Shakespeare they would like us to stage the following summer. Clearly our audiences were ready for some blood and villainy, as the majority chose Richard.”

Changeling Theatre’s production will feature a brilliant ensemble cast, original music and the company’s renowned directorial twist. It promises to be an experience not to be forgotten. All performances start at 7.30pm. Tickets are priced at £16 adult and £8.50 under 16s and are available from the box office on 01634 338338 or online at http://www.medwayticketslive.co.uk For details of dates and venues visit Changeling’s website:
http://www.changeling-theatre.com and follow them on Twitter: @changelingthe

